Swimming for Dancers

The pool is really the only facility I use at the gym. I love it. Even if swimming is a comprehensive workout, it doesn’t feel like I am doing much effort. I can always glide through the water and relax, and let the whole of a long day go.

Last Monday I pondered what the ideal swimming workout would be for a dancer. For a ballet dancer, a tango dancer, a bellydancer. Any dancer. I thought that, contrary to what many people try to do at the pool (going for it with madly fast and heavy arms, splashing everyone around in the process), swimming for dancers should be as quiet, as non-disruptive, as slow, and, specially, as precise as possible. A style of swimming where it is not time and distance, but rather full awareness of your body, what matters. Where effort is focused on engaging the whole of your muscle energy into maintaining an underwater symmetry and balance.

Eventually completing one or two pool lengths.


3 responses to “Swimming for Dancers

Leave a comment